Close Dialog Window
Close Dialog Window
Ruser Saldana
24comments

Mass Effect 3 Review

Posted Thu 24th May 2012 5:07pm by Ruser Saldana
I had several issues with Mass Effect 2, the biggest being the contrived determinants of my squad’s survival. Tying their lives to their loyalty to Shepard (amongst other things) made very little sense to me, and the religious undertones, intended or not, were disconcerting (I feared a cult that preached salvation through loyalty to “The Shepherd” would not be too far off). Bioware, I thought, held their protagonist in too high regard.
 
This setup caused a disconnect between the context of the game (a suicide mission) and the game itself. Much of ME2 was spent recruiting friends and strangers, and then helping these friends and strangers resolve family issues and identity crises. The game climaxed with the suicide mission, but it felt like an afterthought considering how much time and energy was spent catering to my squad’s personal lives instead of, you know, saving the galaxy. It was as if Bioware was keen on having this suicide mission take place but was desperate to find a game to build around it.
 
I expected Mass Effect 3 to have similar narrative troubles, partly because of the franchise’s narrative history, but mainly because reconciling gameplay and story is a difficult task. When it comes to telling stories, I am of the opinion that if Naughty Dog struggles with something, 99.9% of all developers will struggle with it. And Naughty Dog, for all they get right, struggles mightily trying to get the Uncharted game to jive with the Uncharted story. However, I was pleasantly surprised by what Bioware was able to do in ME3.
 
The game begins with the Reapers attacking Earth and the desperation I perceived in Bioware throughout Mass Effect 2 was evident in Shepard in Mass Effect 3 (I can say, unequivocally, that it is better for a character to be desperate rather than the people in charge of telling that character’s story). Shepard is casually dressed and lightly armed during the Reaper attack, evoking a rawness in the opening minutes that sets a vulnerable and personal tone for the rest of the game.
 
For Shepard, desperation means doing anything it takes to gain support against the Reapers and retake Earth. Every mission is put into this context, keeping most of the different stories and plots from wandering off on their own. Even missions that seem totally unrelated to the main plot are somehow tied up with the Reapers. This might seem trivial, and for some, maybe it is. But I find missions much more interesting when they logically and directly affect my ultimate goal.
 
Missions are mostly straightforward, and I wonder if this is on purpose or if there is a lack of viable options to make things more interesting. After all, we have been doing the same thing for the better part of three games, and I imagine that if Bioware knew how to shake up their missions, they would have done it by now. Typically, Shepard and company must get from one end of a map to the other and shoot everything in-between; I was hoping that there would be more to saving the galaxy than this, but apparently there is not. Still, the game does combat well, and I appreciated how fresh most shootouts felt despite fundamentally being the same. At one point, I had to fight my way to a room to pull a couple of switches, then turn and fight my way out of that room. This occurred in a small area, yet Bioware was able to make these two separate fights feel very different despite using the same exact space.
 
At the end, ME3 peaks not with a battle, but with a choice. A lot has already been said about the story’s conclusion and I will not add much to that except for this: knowing Shepard’s fate is nice, but ignoring everyone else was an odd choice considering how much Bioware wanted people to care about them throughout the series (particularly in Mass Effect 2). The conclusion also left me with many questions, primarily: if Bioware doesn’t care about the decisions I made, why should I?
 
 
Overlooking player authorship turned the most compelling aspect of the entire series into irrelevant plot points. Series writer Mac Walters said he found most people "play Paragon," and I suspect this is because the game effectively conveys the consequences of Renegade choices. Maybe there's a lot of people out there who have no problems telling Joker he's an idiot for looking at the android EDI in that way (probably breaking his heart but apparently saving his pelvis). But I expect that the majority of the players are, for example, anti-genocide, and the game is successful appealing to that, making even virtual genocide seem like a very bad thing. That Bioware showed little regard for such a cogent and personal part of Mass Effect is the game’s biggest disappointment. I find this to be especially astounding considering how even trivial things in Mass Effect 2 affected the ending in that game (yes, I'm back on this point. I'm still trying to figure out how loyalty can stop a bullet from entering a person's brain once it has penetrated the skull). 
 
Finally, I was most surprised by how effective I found the game’s soundtrack to be - a big surprise considering I find most music in games to be inconsequential. However, I thought the soundtrack here did exactly what it should do: make me aware of the effect the music is having without distracting me with the music itself. When Shepard leaves Earth in the game’s opening sequence, there is music playing in the background, but I could not tell you what it sounded like. I can, however, tell you that the sight of Reapers on Earth is the most heartbreaking thing Shepard has ever seen: it was hinted at in her facial expression and driven home by the music that accompanied it.
 
I find that amazing visuals can make for some memorable scenes, and Mass Effect 3, without exception, has amazing visuals. On the other hand, I find amazing music can make for memorable moments, and there are many moments here that I'm sure I'll remember for quite some time.

Comment on this Review
Name:

E-Mail Address:
Will not be displayed to other users
Comments:

Verification:

Please enter the letters and numbers you see displayed in the above image.
The letters are not case sensitive.


Comments
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 10/06/2016 7:25pm
[b][url=http://www.speedmasteromega.top/]omegomega speedmaster omega watch
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 10/06/2016 7:25pm
copy seamaster replica omega copy omega OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on leather strap - 431.13.41.22.02.001 [ad9d] - $237.00 : replica omega watches, speedmasteromega.top language:                                              Wholesale Shipping Info Payment Methods Contact Us Welcome GUEST, PLEASE Sign In or Register Shopping Bag:  (Your cart is empty) Home Omega de-ville Omega seamaster Omega speedmaster Currencies US Dollar Euro GB Pound Canadian Dollar Australian Dollar Jappen Yen Norske Krone Swedish Krone Danish Krone CNY Categories Omega speedmaster Omega specialities Omega constellation Omega de ville de ville co-axial co-axial-annual-calendar co-axial-chronograph-35-mm co-axial-chronograph-42-mm hour vision ladymatic prestige tourbillon tresor Omega seamaster Featured - more OMEGA Watches: Constellation Constellation Quartz 24 mm - Steel on steel - 123.10.24.60.02.001 [44f4]$11,503.00  $238.00Save: 98% offOMEGA Watches: Constellation Constellation Omega Co-Axial 38 mm - Red gold on red gold - 123.55.38.20.99.004 [0ca6]$16,650.00  $212.00Save: 99% offOMEGA Watches: Constellation Constellation Omega Co-Axial 38 mm - Steel - yellow gold on Steel - yellow gold - 123.20.38.21.01.002 [812e]$7,255.00  $220.00Save: 97% off Home ::  Omega de ville ::  de ville ::  co-axial-annual-calendar ::  OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on leather strap - 431.13.41.22.02.001 [ad9d] OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on leather strap - 431.13.41.22.02.001 [ad9d] .jqzoom{ float:left; position:relative; padding:0px; cursor:pointer; width:301px; height:412px; }" $18,101.00  $237.00Save: 99% off Add to Cart: Product Description Features Annual calendarWatch which automatically recognizes months with 30 and 31 days and needs to be manually corrected only once a year, on the first of March. ChronometerLabel given to a watch which has undergone precision tests and received a certificate from an official body (COSC). Transparent case backA transparent case back - frequently made of sapphire - makes it possible to see the movement inside the watch. DateThe day of the month, displayed in a window on a watch dial typically at the 3 o'clock or 6 o'clock position. technical data CrystalDomed scratch-resistant sapphire crystal with anti-reflective treatment on both sides CaseSteel DialSilver Water resistance10 bar (100 metres / 330 feet) SizeCase Diameter: 41 mm movement Caliber: Omega 8601 Self-winding movement with Co-Axial Escapement for greater precision, stability and durability. Annual calendar with instantaneous jump. Silicon balance-spring on free sprung-balance, 2 barrels mounted in series, automatic winding in both directions to reduce winding time. Rhodium plated finish with exclusive Geneva waves in arabesque. Power reserve: 55 hours Description Each of OMEGA’s elegant De Ville timepieces is characterized by a unique and classic design. This model features a two-zone silver dial with Roman numeral hour indexes, and month and date windows located at the 3 o’clock position. A scratch-resistant sapphire crystal protects this impressive dial. The bezel is mounted on a 41 mm stainless steel case and is presented on a black leather strap. Powering this exquisite wristwatch is the OMEGA Co-Axial calibre 8601, visible through the transparent caseback. Read more close Related Products OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Red gold on leather strap - 431.53.41.22.02.001 [8a7c] OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on leather strap - 431.13.41.22.01.001 [477b] OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on steel - 431.10.41.22.02.001 [8f67] OMEGA Watches: De Ville De Ville Omega Co-Axial Annual Calendar 41 mm - Steel on leather strap - 431.13.41.22.02.001 [ad9d] Home    Shipping    Wholesale    Order Tracking    Coupons    Payment Methods    Contact Us OMEGA WATCHES    OMEGA IMITATE    OMEGA LADIES WATCHES    OMEGA 2014    OMEGA MEN'S WATCHES    OMEGA HIGH IMITATE   Copyright © 2012 All Rights Reserved. omega speedmaster omega watch seamaster blog seamaster About speedmasteromega.top blog
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 31/05/2016 4:58pm
[b]blacblack timberland boots white timberland boots
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 31/05/2016 4:58pm
timberland shoes for men timberland boots timberland outlet Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Grey - $134.00 : Timberland outlet, timberlandproboots.cc language:                                              Welcome! Sign In or Register Your cart is empty Home Mens Timberland Boots Womens Timberland Boots Currencies US Dollar Euro GB Pound Canadian Dollar Australian Dollar Jappen Yen Norske Krone Swedish Krone Danish Krone CNY Categories Womens Timberland Boots Mens Timberland Boots Men Timberland 6 Inch Boots Men Timberland Beach Shoes Men Timberland Boat Boots Men Timberland Earthkeepers Men Timberland Euro Hiker Boots Men Timberland Nellie Chukka Boots Men Timberland Roll Top Boots Featured -   [more] Timberland Men 6 Inch Boots Gucci Black White$372.00  $134.00Save: 64% offTimberland Men 6 Inch Boots Red White$194.00  $138.00Save: 29% offTimberland Men Roll Top Boots Wheat White$341.00  $136.00Save: 60% off Home ::  Mens Timberland Boots ::  Men Timberland Roll Top Boots ::  Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Grey .jqzoom{ float:left; position:relative; padding:0px; cursor:pointer; width:301px; height:300px; } Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Grey $229.00  $134.00Save: 41% off Please Choose: Size Select Size US10, UK9.5, EU44 US11, UK10.5, EU45 US12, UK11.5, EU46 US7, UK6.5, EU40 US7.5, UK7, EU41 US8.5, UK8, EU42 US9, UK8.5, EU43   Add to Cart: Our Heritage Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Grey features uppers made from premium full-grain leather and Harris Tweed? wool, so it looks polished and contemporary on the outside - and for all-day comfort and shock absorption, we've used our exclusive anti-fatigue comfort foam technology on the inside. Imported. Features: * Rubber lug outsole for durability * Quarter panel can be worn up or rolled down * Durable laces with Taslan? nylon fibers for long-lasting wear * Premium full-grain and nubuck leathers for comfort and long-lasting wear * Timberland's exclusive anti-fatigue technology is designed for people on their feet all day, with unique inverted, molded cones which absorb shock and return energy to feet Related Products Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Yellow Bird Nest Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Gold Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Black Smooth White Timberland Men Roll Top Boots Wheat Brown Home   Shipping   Wholesale   Order Tracking   Coupons   Payment Methods   Contact Us   NEW TIMBERLAND    TIMBERLAND MENS    TIMBERLAND WOMEN    TIMBERLAND KIDS    DISCOUNT TIMBERLAND   CHEAP TIMBERLAND   Copyright © 2012 All Rights Reserved. black timberland boots white timberland boots men blog men About timberlandproboots.cc blog
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 24/05/2016 3:52pm
[b][url=http://fr.replicarolexdaytona.org/]RolexRolex Submariner Rolex Submariner
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 24/05/2016 3:52pm
rolex replica swiss rolex on sale swiss rolex on sale Cosmograph Daytona #sddm { margin: 0 auto; padding: 0; z-index: 30; background-color:#F4F4F4; width: 80px; height:23px; float: right; margin-right: 70px;} #sddm li { margin: 0; padding: 0; list-style: none; float: left; font: bold 12px arial} #sddm li a { display: block; margin: 0 1px 0 0; padding: 4px 10px; width: 60px; background: #333; color: #888; text-align: center; text-decoration: none} #sddm li a:hover { background: #49A3FF} #sddm div { position: absolute; visibility: hidden; margin: 0; padding: 0; background: #EAEBD8; border: 1px solid #5970B2} #sddm div a { position: relative; display: block; margin: 0; padding: 5px 10px; width: auto; white-space: nowrap; text-align: left; text-decoration: none; background: #EAEBD8; color: #2875DE; font: 12px arial} #sddm div a:hover { background: #49A3FF; color: #FFF} Language Deutsch Français Italiano Español Português 日本語 Russian Arabic Norwegian Swedish Danish Nederlands Finland Ireland English Welcome! Se Connecter ou Se enregistrer Votre panier est vide Modes de paiement Contactez-Nous coupons maison New 2013 Models Cosmograph Daytona Submariner Datejust Devises US Dollar Euro GB Pound Canadian Dollar Australian Dollar Jappen Yen Norske Krone Swedish Krone Danish Krone CNY Catégories Rolex Neuf 2013 Modèles Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Rolex Submariner Rolex Datejust Lady 31 Rolex Datejust Rolex Datejust II Rolex Datejust 36 Rolex Datejust Special Edition Rolex Day-Date Rolex Day-Date II Rolex Deepsea Rolex Explorer Rolex Explorer II Rolex Lady-Datejust Rolex GMT -Master II Rolex Lady-Datejust Rolex Milgauss Rolex Yacht-Master II Rolex Yacht-Master Rolex Oyster Perpetual Rolex SKY -Dweller Les meilleures ventes Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: acier 904L - M116520 -0016 €6,230.07  €163.68Economie : 97% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Montre - Timeless Rolex Montres de luxe €6,765.75  €150.66Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: 18 ct or Everose - M116515LN -0003 €9,934.26  €192.51Economie : 98% A la une -   [plus] Rolex Oyster Perpetual 31 mm Watch: acier 904L - M177200 -0004€9,888.69  €159.03Economie : 98%Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116518 -0073€7,275.39  €161.82Economie : 98%Rolex Lady-Datejust Pearlmaster Watch: 18 ct or Everose - M80315 -0023€19,010.13  €198.09Economie : 99% maison ::  Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Filter Results by: Articles commençant par… A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Affiche 1 à 17 (sur 17 articles)   Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Montre - Timeless Rolex Montres de luxe€6,765.75  €150.66Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: 18 ct or Everose - M116505 -0001€8,909.40  €186.93Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: 18 ct or Everose - M116505 -0002€9,167.94  €154.38Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: 18 ct or Everose - M116515LN -0003€9,934.26  €192.51Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: acier 904L - M116520 -0015€9,192.12  €156.24Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: acier 904L - M116520 -0016€6,230.07  €163.68Economie : 97% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or blanc 18 ct - M116509 -0036€10,474.59  €188.79Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or blanc 18 ct - M116509 -0037€10,734.06  €163.68Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or blanc 18 ct - M116519 -0163€8,793.15  €177.63Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or blanc 18 ct - M116519 -0195€6,929.43  €164.61Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116518 -0073€7,275.39  €161.82Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116518 -0131€6,146.37  €152.52Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116528 -0031€6,988.02  €197.16Economie : 97% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116528 -0037€9,831.03  €189.72Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: or jaune 18 carats - M116528 -0038€10,561.08  €173.91Economie : 98% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: Rolesor jaune - combinaison d'acier 904L et or jaune 18 ct - M116523 -0040€7,027.08  €196.23Economie : 97% Rolex Cosmograph Daytona Watch: Rolesor jaune - combinaison d'acier 904L et or jaune 18 ct - M116523 -0055€6,076.62  €153.45Economie : 97% Affiche 1 à 17 (sur 17 articles)   maison& nbsp; & nbsp ; Livraison& nbsp; & nbsp ; de gros& nbsp; & nbsp ; Suivi de commande& nbsp; & nbsp ; coupons& nbsp; & nbsp ; Modes de paiement& nbsp; & nbsp ; Contactez-Nous& nbsp; & nbsp ; NOUVELLES Replica Watches& nbsp; & nbsp ; Montres Rolex& nbsp; & nbsp ; AAAA Montres Rolex& nbsp; & nbsp ; Fausses montres Rolex& nbsp; & nbsp ; Rolex Oyster& nbsp; & nbsp ; Réplique Montres Rolex& nbsp; & nbsp ; Copyright © 2012 Tous droits réservés . Rolex Submariner Rolex Submariner Daytona blog Daytona About replicarolexdaytona.org blog
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 17/05/2016 1:37am
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 17/05/2016 1:37am
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 30/04/2016 4:38pm
reesebancr reesebancroft
53729 GK Points
Date Posted 13/02/2016 11:56am
Page 1 of 3
>

The Lowdown
Single Player:
8.6/10
Originality:
7/10
Story
8/10
Value
8/10
Visuals
9.1/10
Audio:
9.1/10
Casual Gamer:
7.8/10
Total Score:
8.4
/ 10
A disappointing conclusion to an otherwise engrossing experience.
Game Kudos Wish List
  • More variety to missions
 
Game Support
  • Trophies
  • Multiplayer (online only)
Review Facts
  • Sony Bravia, 55" TV
  • Sony home theater system, DTS surround sound
  • Multiplayer not played




Proud supporter of GamesAid
The Games Tribe
Game KudosCopyright © 2010 Game Kudos Ltd. All rights reserved.
By continuing use of this site, you agree to be bound by our Terms of Use and Acceptable Use Policy
Jobs @ GK | Advertising @ GK | PR @ GK |About Us | E-Mail Support | Acceptable Use Policy | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use